Button to scroll to the top of the page.

School of Human Ecology Administered Scholarships

The School of Human Ecology administers many scholarships that are granted on a merit/need basis. We award approximately $100,000 to our undergraduate students each year.

The application process for 2017-2018 is open now until April 26, 2018.

Please note: this application is only available to current School of Human Ecology students. You must be a School of Human Ecology major in order to be eligible. The application requires two references. After submitting their email addresses on your application, an automated message with a unique link is sent to the reference contact. The reference contact must complete the form on this link by the application deadline (April 26, 2018).

The application process involves filling out just one application which provides eligibility for all School of Human Ecology scholarships. 

School of Human Ecology Scholarship Application

We aim to notify students by the end of June or July each year.

Scholarship recipients

Scholarship recipients will be sent an award letter that includes the CNS & SoHE scholarship policy, how many awards they've received, for which semester(s), the criteria they're required to maintain eligibility, and thank-you letter submissions. All undergraduate scholarship recipients are required to write thank you letters to the donor(s) of their award. Recipients must submit a digital copy of their letter through email, AND either hand deliver or mail a hard copy of their letter (with their original signature included) to the Scholarship Coordinator at the following addresses:

Email Address: 


Mailing Address:

Shawna Al-Mashouq
200 W. 24th Street
Gearing Hall 317
Austin, TX 78712

School of Human Ecology Undergraduate Scholarships include:

Andrea and Scott Mason Scholarship
**Gordon Clark Bennett Endowed Scholarship in Human Ecology
Amy Gaston Smith and Beulah M. Smith Centennial Scholarship
Betty Ann Willmann Smith Endowed Scholarship
C. J. Davidson Scholarship Fund
Carl and Agnes Stockard Memorial Endowment Fund
Carolyn Frost Keenan Endowed Scholarship
Dr. Ardis Rewerts Memorial Scholarship
Jack S. Gray, Jr. Endowed Presidential Scholarship
Julian Gold/Gail & Bob Gurwitz Scholarship
Les Dames d’Escoffier Delores Simmons Snyder Scholarship
**Louise Shelley Hewlett Brame Scholarship in Human Ecology
Margaret Dunlap Thompson Endowed Presidential Scholarship in Human Ecology
Martha Ann Goss McGonigle Fellowship in Child Development
**Mary E. Gearing Human Ecology Council Scholarship
**Mary E. Gearing Scholarship in Human Ecology
Merle Virginia Voss Bommer Endowed Scholarship Fund in the School Of Human Ecology
**Sallie Beth Moore Scholarship
Sharon Elizabeth Wilson Endowed Excellence Fund in Human Ecology, Textiles And Apparel, Conservation and Museum Studies
Sonia Wolf Wilson Endowed Scholarship
Susan T. Jastrow Outstanding Undergraduate Nutrition Scholar Award
**Texas Exes in Human Ecology Scholarship Fund
Virginia Heisler Woodside Endowed Presidential Scholarship in Nutrition
**Students who receive these awards should address their thank you letters to the School of Human Ecology Director, Dr. Deborah Jacobvitz.


Federal Student Aid

Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)